Records created and used by County of London Branch

Production date

Collection Type
Level of Current Record
In October 1908 the first Red Cross detachment, L/1, was formed at the London’s Polytechnic institute. The first women’s detachment, L/2, was formed five months later. Both detachments became part of the City of Westminster division.

The County of London branch formed in October 1909 and was inaugurated on 9 December 1909, with committees and divisional secretaries appointed in a number of London boroughs. In 1921 the London Red Cross transfusion service was formed which pioneered the service of organising voluntary blood donation. In 1974 the County of London branch was dissolved and a new London branch incorporating the County of London branch, the City of London, and the Greater London boroughs was formed.
Catalogue Number

Explore by colours


Next Higher Record in Group

Member Object