Royal Red Cross medal awarded to Lady Katherine Weston Barker.

Production date

See full details


Royal Red Cross medal awarded to Lady Katherine Weston Barker (later Mrs K W Barnardiston) for her work as Director of the British Red Cross Wounded and Missing Department in Egypt from October 1915 to May 1916, and for her work in the Wounded and Missing Bureau in London from October 1916 to October 1917.
Collection Type
Queen Victoria, the first patron of the British Red Cross, established the Royal Red Cross medal on 27 April 1883 for women who showed special devotion to nursing sick and wounded servicemen. Since 1977, it is also awarded to men in the nursing sector.

Among the first 31 recipients of the Royal Red Cross were members of the British Red Cross: Florence Nightingale and Lady Loyd-Lindsay, both members of the Ladies Committee, Lady Strangford, Mrs Deeble and Sisters E.Cannell and M. Fellowes. In addition, many British Red Cross volunteers received this award for their work caring for the sick and wounded during the First World War.
Catalogue Number
Associated Person and Role
British Red Cross Society (X20L)

Explore by colours

Object Types