Records created and used by Somerset Branch

Production date

Collection Type
Level of Current Record
The first annual report of the branch was published for the year 1st April 1910 to 31st March 1911 under the Presidency of the Marchioness of Bath.

By 1911 the branch comprised Districts in Axbridge; Bath and City; Bridgwater; Chard; Clutton; Dulverton; Frome; Keynsham; Langport; Long Ashton; Shepton Mallet; Taunton; Wellington; Wells and Glastonbury; Weston-super-Mare; Williton; Wincanton and Yeovil, each headed by a Vice-President. The geographical boundaries of the Districts were based upon those of the local Poor Law Unions.

At the close of the Second World War the Branch had 61 Women's and 15 Men's Volunteer Aid Detachments

By 1978 the Districts had been condensed into Mendip; Sedgemoor; Taunton Deane; West Somerset; Yeovil East and Yeovil West. In 1985 the Yeovil divisions were renamed South Somerset East and South Somerset West.

The following served as Presidents of the Branch;

Marchioness of Bath 1910-1927; The Countess Waldegrave 1927-1931; Mrs Ridley 1931-1948; Lady Wraxall 1948-[unknown]; Hermione Luttrell 1977-1984; Dr Audrey Dunlop 1984-1991; Marian Gresswell 1992-[unknown].

The branch closed on 31 December 1997 due to unification with the national organisation under a single charitable status. In 2004 Somerset became part of the British Red Cross Cornwall, Devon, Dorset and Somerset and Channel Isles Area in the Wales and Western Region.
Catalogue Number

Explore by colours


Next Higher Record in Group

Member Object